Poor Unfortunate Souls

by Serena Valentino

The story of The Little Mermaid from Ursula’s point of view.

Sort of.

The story starts with Ursula walking down the streets destroying a small town. She then meets of with a group of witches (who happen to be sisters). This is nearly all we learn of Ursula’s back story. I was a little disappointed with this because in the two earlier books in the series, we learn a lot about The Wicked Queen and The Beast.

I also feel like Ursula is hardly in a book about…Ursula. It felt like it focused more on the sisters trying to save their other sister than it did on the infamous Sea Witch.

I didn’t dislike the novel. I just watched we could’ve learned a little more about this Disney villain; she’s one of my favorites, if not my very favorite.

Leave a comment