Baby Teeth

(I received an ARC of this book from St. Martin’s press from their major marketing campaign of this book.)

This book, y’all…I just…it’s definitely exciting.

Do NOT read any further if you don’t want minor SPOILERS.

This book is about an evil child who loves her father but for some reason wants to get rid of her mother. Hanna, the little girl, starts out small but makes increasingly awful attacks against her mother, Suzette.

I thought this was going to be more of an unreliable narrator situation, but both narrators turned out to be very much reliable, in my opinion. This book fits very nicely into the thriller/maybe horror genre/s, though it’s less of a psychological thriller than what I was expecting. It’s told in alternating voices, Suzette’s and Hanna’s.

I was very much #teamsuzette throughout the novel. However, my heart was broken for Hanna. At only seven years old, she couldn’t understand as much as she thought she did. She was broken-hearted over her broken UnderSlumberBumbleBeast; she couldn’t understand why her Daddy was mad or why her parents left her behind; she really thought her new stuffed toy would be destroyed. While Suzette didn’t always make the best decisions, Hanna’s progress (descent?) from an already terrifying position was very hard to read.

There is some language and a little bit of sex, so be cautious about that. I definitely recommend this novel. It’s on sale 7/7/18.

Leave a comment