The Turn of the Key

by Ruth Ware

Rowan Caine applies for a dream nannying job in Scotland, but is it too good to be true? Apparently, since the novel starts with her writing letters from a Scottish prison to a barrister. But is what happened cause by the supernatural or something closer to her new home?

This is intended to be modern take on Henry James’ The Turn of the Screw.

This is only my second Ruth Ware novel, but I enjoyed it more than In a Dark, Dark Wood. I was concerned they were going to be too similar since both “houses” have giant glass walls, but that fear was mostly unfounded.

I really only had two big concerns throughout the novel. My first concern was that almost too much of the action was saved for later. Several little things happened throughout the book, but it didn’t really pick up until the middle or so. I’m not saying the big twists need to be revealed right away, but since you’re supposed to question whether or not ghosts are living in the house, I could’ve used a bit more creepiness.

My second concern: WHAT HAPPENS TO ROWAN?!?!

I did enjoy this novel a hole lot and rated it four stars on Goodreads. It wasn’t my favorite book, but it kept me reading way past when I should’ve been asleep, so that deserves a little something.